Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I used to carry a SW jFrame .38 and this is my first Semi-Auto. So I'm new to Taurus, Semi-Auto, and the .380 caliber itself! I have searched this forum and found "TCP 738 reliability enhancements by egumpher" and a few ammo recommendations threads. My question today is what are the recommended steps to break-in the TCP 738? I plan to put 200 rounds of mixed FMJ and a box of critical defense through it. Any tips would be greatly appreciated! Oh and my serial is 37xxxB. Two-tone black and stainless with two mags and a fanny pack. :D

IMG_1199.JPG IMG_1200.JPG

·
Registered
85 Posts
Really all that's needed is a thorough cleaning and then shoot a couple of boxes of ammo. If any other issues show up they can be addressed as they come up. I doubt you'll have any problems, they run well. If you have feed problems you can make sure your magazines are properly shaped as detailed in the thread on modifying them for reliability, but that seems to have only been an issue with the A models. Just remember that at this size the pistols can possibly be picky about ammo so be sure to take an assortment of ammo with you to test.

·
Registered
36,032 Posts
1) field strip the weapon, get some pressurized synthetic safe Gun Scrubber, and regular cleaning kit, spray the gun scrubber in all the little nooks and crannies (including the firing pin hole) then clean with the regular solvent in the gun cleaning kit, clean the weapon throughly , lubricate it ( running it just a tad on the wet side) then reasseemble, be sure and disassmble the magazines and clean them as well.
2) get yourself some 380 FMJ projectiles that have round noses and run them through the gun.
once that you feel the weapon is functioning 120% then try different self defense ammo until you find one that works in the gun.
3) understand that the micro 380 compact is a totally different world than a revolver,any revolver!