Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my friend and I were shooting his new public defender poly yesterday, and noticed that when shooting federal 000 buck, about every 2nd or 3rd shot the cylinder would lock. could not get the cyl to fire in either double action or single. could not even get the trigger into single action. after working the cylinder release and moving the cylinder around a little, it would free up and go back to firing. we also tried winchester self defence rounds which it had no problems with, and 45LC wich it ate up like candy.

Is there somthing to look for on these as to why they don't like the federal ammo? or is this gun defective?

I'm a mechanic by trade, so I don't mind working on the gun a little if there's somthing I can look at or adjust to help this weapon out.

Thanks for you help,!

·
Registered
20,672 Posts
Sounds like the "protruding primer" gremlins, to me. Odd that it's with Federals, though...maybe just a bad lot? The only Feds that I ever had an issue with, were the .45LCs (blue box, Hi Shok or something like that). Judges are fickle about ammo.

BTW...Just noticed this is your first post. Welcome aboard!!!:wave:

Reactions: dieselfume

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Check your barrel/cylinder gap. If its too tight, when the gun gets warm it will tend to hangup there. Have a 650 that did the same.
What is the correct gap? or is there supposed to be just enough for the cylinder to rotate and no more than that?

Thank you for the welcome guys. !

·
5,686 Posts