Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
336 Posts
Congrats on the new purchase. I love mine. Since this is your first handgun, try to get some instruction, or at least check out some you tube vids & articles on grip, stance, posture & alignment, trigger control, etc. Handguns can be more difficult than rifles to shoot accurately, & compacts like the 709 can exaggerate your errors in form.
Field strip & clean it thoroughly before you fire it. Owners manual augmented by a few you tube vids will help there. Good luck & have fun with your new pistol.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice! As far as grip, stance, etc goes, I did take a handgun safety/training course before I purchased the gun so I am pretty comfortable with that stuff, although I am not an expert by any means.

I actually went and shot it this afternoon before saw anyone say that you were supposed to clean it first, but I didn't have any problems. I put a box of 50 rounds of PMC Bronze 180 gr full metal jackets through it, no FTF or FTE. I will give it a good clean before I do any more shooting though.

I can definitely see what you mean about exaggerating errors in form though...I wasn't very accurate with it to say the least :) I'm pretty sure it was more me than the gun though. It felt alot different than the other handguns I have shot in the past, so I think it will just take some adjusting and getting used to how this gun shoots.

·
Registered
57 Posts
What was the grain/weight on the ammo you shot ? I'm looking hard at this gun and appreciate being able to come to this site and get real reviews. Was it pretty easy to handle, or did it leave your hand stinging a bit ?

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·