Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! My name is clayton. I'm new to guns, and also this forum. I realized that my house does not have anything to keep my family safe in it, be it an alarm system or even a bat to use in case some intruder breaks in; now I know a gun might be an extreme solution, but honestly, I want to learn how to use one just in case I ever find myself needing to. In the future, I do plan on making interstate travel, so if I can get a concealed weapons permit in my state of Florida, then I would be able to use it in other states that accept it.

But like I said, I'm new to guns and shooting in general. I've looked up some good Youtube videos, but I know nothing beats an in-person training at a dedicated gun range. However, due to this current pandemic, that is most likely out of the question for the time being.

I've bought a handgun, a Smith & Wesson M&P .380 EZ, and I'll be going to pick it up tomorrow. If anyone has any useful resources here on this forum, then I'll be glad to accept it! Thanks, everyone!

·
Premium Member
3,647 Posts
Let me be the FIRST to welcome you!

You're off to a good start watching videos. I suggest watching videos about your specific gun, including the cleaning part.

When you pick it up, ask if the shop has classes. If not, see if they suggest a local range where you can take classes. Any safety class or beginning shooter class would go a long way to teaching you about yourself, your gun, and general safety. I'm not a "gun guy" so I'm sure there will be some actual knowledgeable advice to come along soon.

·
Registered
4,402 Posts
Welcome to the club.......
I agree- when possible take a gun safety course, preferable one that includes range time. Once you have the basics - then practice as often as practical- once you are comfortable- then practice enough to stay proficient.

·
Registered
7,477 Posts
Welcome to the forum from Northern Oklahoma.

·