Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I know a lot of people won't bother to read this so I'll put in as much information as possible and keep those of you who do read it busy for a few hours. :D

To start with I have owned Taurus firearms for many years now and I have always liked what they provide. From my experience you get a good gun for not much money.

I'll start at the beginning. I'm an Air Force Veteran who served 7 years from 1983 to 1990. For two of those years I was on the base rifle team, although we had just formed the team and I didn't get to any competitions. I was a trained NRA firearms instructor for several years and had some good times putting other peoples kids through the course. I was one of a few Non-military rifle range, range masters for the off base range. And last but not least I am a gunsmith. Currently non-practicing due to location.

I was raised on rifles and shotguns, and bought my first pistol when I turned 21. A nice old Colt Detective 38 special, pre-70s model. After leaving the military I took a full time job as a gunsmith for a well known firearms importer here in Vermont and worked on thousands of handguns. Mostly Colts, and Smith and Wessons, but with plenty of Webleys, Lugers, Stars, Llamas, and the occasional Walther P38 and Broom Handle Mauser thrown in.

Of all the South American guns I've worked on, none of the old guns come close to the current quality of a Taurus.

I doubt I'll be around much, but I was looking for some current news about the new PT140 that I ordered from a local dealer. (Traded in a Taurus Mdl 66 4") I'm seeing some good things, and as usual, a few places on the net where comments showed a distinct lack of knowledge about firearms. Oh yeah, I still have a model 85 I bought new many moons ago.