Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an opportunity to buy an Egyptian made AK in .308 caliber for $440 with one magazine. A picture is attached. I am new to AK's and have not looked much at them. Can someone tell me if $440 is a rip/fair/bargain price? Thanks.

·
Administrator
18,116 Posts
These days, that is a very fair price for an Egyptian. Yours is an sidefolder which generally goes for more $$.

Egyptian MAADI AK's and AKM's were made on Russian Machinery under Russian Supervision and are every bit as good as the original Russian Military production. The only thing you need be wary of is whether your trigger has "trigger slap". Some of the early Semi-Auto Triggers were not well designed, but that is easily remedied by replacing the trigger assembly with an aftermarket trigger group from Red Star.

I have one of the last Intratec MAADI AKM imports. It's been great!

·
Registered
2,334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
jwc007, thank you for the information. It was very helpful. Your "very fair price" was the clincher for me.

I have searched some information about trigger slap online and it sounds like I need to shoot the AK in order to find out if it has that problem. I did look closely at the trigger and could not find any markings on it. I suppose the best thing is to just ask the seller. It is a friend's son (lost his job) so I have a level of trust there. It looks like I might be a new AK owner. :)

[Edit] Also, I did find MAADI COMPANY stamped on the side of it. On the other side it is stamped with A.C.C. INT/INTRAC. [/Edit]

·
Administrator
18,116 Posts