Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I've been doing a lot of reading and I've started to get into the habit of carrying in the truck.(Im a student so I have to make sure that its not in the truck when I'm in class). I've got a holster for my 24/7 but its so damn uncomfortable that I've realized I need something a bit more "Compact" for when I carry on myself. I need suggestions lots of them. Theres so many choices that I just dont know. I love the reliability of revolvers but I like the fact that I get an extra few rounds with the pistol. So I'm looking for a compact pistol in 9mm. I've thought of this so far.

KelTec PF 9. Good price. Very compact. Reliability Questionable. Difficult to aim Not so good reviews from gun-tests.

Glock 26. Decent price. Glock Reliability. Not too compact.

Ruger 101. Tank of a gun. Only five shots. Not too compact. Higher Priced

Sig 220. Sig reliability/quality. Seems to be toward the larger size. High Price and I dont know much about this gun.

Taurus 605. Good price, but I havent been the happiest of my other taurus revolver quality. So this revolver is not going to be a candidate.

Taurus Millenium Pro. Great Price. Relatively compact. Questionable Reliability

So heres the direction I'm heading in. I love my Taurus guns but I think they are Great guns but I'd rather stick toward pistols that have better track records. Everyone has there lemons but I think I'd rather one of these pistols over a millenium. Let me know what you guys think.

·
Administrator
35,272 Posts
Can't go wrong with a Ruger SP101. Glock, Sig, are thicker than alot of people realize, according to recent reviews. I wouldn't necessarily say that the Taurus PT111 has 'questionable reliability'.....have you had any specific problems with it that make you say that?