Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to make another attempt of a HD weapon for my wife.

First I had my self customized 5" PT1911 .45 ACP for her, and it's a great shooter but a little to much gun for her. Next I went with a S&W 5906 9mm, which has no recoil at all, but it's been giving me some trouble and I'm starting to worry that no matter how reliable an auto is there might be an issue and my wife is not the kind to tap rack yet. We've spent a lot of time shooting and she is a great shot because she started as a blank sheet of paper and didn't have a bunch of self taught bad habits like me. haha.

I love wheelguns and have a few. I've done spring kits and stoned internals for trigger jobs on many revolvers. There is no failure drills except pulling the trigger again. Also my wife is very concerned with over penetration and hitting the neighbors, so here is my thought.

1. Get a Taurus 82 trade in. do a spring kit, hogue rubber, stone internals and use a laser lyte laser. Put on orange front sight paint and weld a little piece of steel horizontaly to the end of the hammer for her to feel safe about decocking and cocking (which will be limited anyways).
2. Load up a multi projectile .38 load. For example 3 wad-cutter disks in a .38 case. I've had good luck with these and they stay within a playing card at 10 yards.

There would be no failure drills, next to no recoil and no over-penetration issues. Basically six rounds of 410 buck. in a reliable package. And the laser would help her stay on target.

I have a Colt MK3 Official Police but the laser wont fit. I would like this laser grip combo because I think the hogue would do a better job with recoil then a crimson trace.

I'm just afraid that the 82 isn't the best base to go on.

Whats your 2 cents???

·
Registered
29,846 Posts
Go with the revolver, stick to double action shooting, bob the hammer if you have to.