Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok guys, I’m relatively new to owning and maintaining a handgun so be easy on me. I have a G2C, when I bought it new I cleaned it according to the paper that came with the gun. I then researched on YouTube and cleaned it like a reputable video said to. I went to a range and put around 300 rounds or so through it and cleaned it hours later. Went to a concealed carry class and looked at the cardboard target and noticed a metal flake sticking in the front of the target. Got it home and cleaned again, and attached is a picture of the bore. I may have not noticed it before but, it seems that every other “channel” in the bore has small pieces missing in the beginning of the bore??? Maybe I’m paranoid, any help?

Attachments

·
Registered
16,494 Posts
I own 2 of the G2's and have never seen anything like that. The 2 that I have are just the G2 and not the C model.

·
Registered
27,138 Posts
It was probably a piece of lead. Were the bullets cast, plated or jacketed?

And "reputable video" or not, I couldn't sign off on it without actually knowing what you did. There are lots of experts on the internet... some more expert than others.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The bullets were Federal 115gr FMJ brass shell, the piece in the cardboard was silver color. It did misfire, I half racked then let it back and pulled the trigger and it went off and ejected clean. I’m not sure if that was the round that the metal piece came from though as I didn’t notice it until I went to pick up the target. The first time this gun has misfired and it was during the conceal carry range time. As far as cleaning the gun, the only thing that could be an issue would be the wire brush as I’ve only used it after running at least 100 rounds through it. Some say not to use it and some say it’s fine.

·
Registered
46 Posts