Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After all my worrying about a double-load, I took some guns to the range today and had a squib in my PT145 45ACP. The bullet lodge about 1/2 way down the barrel. We took a cleaning rod and tried to tap it out with no luck. Then a punch and hammer, moved it about 1". What's the best way to get this bullet out of the barrel?

·
Administrator
18,052 Posts
I would use a large round brass rod, typically available at a hardware store, that mostly fills the bore, but is still loose, and a Hammer, driving the bullet back out the chamber.

As I work as a Range Officer for my Pistol Club, I keep an assortment of different sized Brass rods for different Calibers and a Rock Hammer in my Range Bag, for such occurances. I've seen squibs from both Factory and Reloaded Ammunition. Those same Brass Rods can also be used to drift sights, if desirable.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Don't mean to state the obvious - but - when removing a squib either remove the barrel or be sure it is fully supported.

·
Administrator
18,052 Posts
Yes, one should remove the barrel from a Semi-Auto first and support the chamber end on a bench covered with a soft rag if possible, for bullets deeply lodged in the bore. Most squibs however only go about half an inch in and are only lodged in the barrel/chamber throat and do not require much force to remove. I have successfully removed some bullets from a 1911 with the chamber empty and the slide and barrel locked closed with no harm to the pistol whatsoever. The owner of that particular pistol had had trouble with his powder dispenser and needed my services quite often, that particular evening.