Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just mounted a new truglo red dot and phantom magnifier. I haven't shot it to try them out yet, but they seem to line up fine. It's just something about it doesn't look right.

Am I crazy?

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
40,638 Posts
Personally I don't like the looks of the combination at all.

I have zero knowledge of red dot magnifiers, however my first thought would be the magnifier needs to go in front of the red dot so the size of the dot is not magnified as well.

I guess I need to do some research on it.

Edit: quick check online and I see the magnifier goes in the back. Just seems weird to me that the red dot would also get magnified.

Reactions: CWB

·
Registered
24,850 Posts
Yeah, it looks a little odd.

·
Registered
3,185 Posts
You ain't crazy.

This is just my opinion, so it ain't worth much. Keep the red dot, lose the magnifier.

Every advantage the red dot gives you (quick target acquisition, large field of view), is lost when a magnifier is used. You might as well sport a good illuminated 1x6 scope. YMMV.

·
Registered
174 Posts
My initial reaction is that yes, it looks a bit odd. I haven't used a magnifier though, so I can't speak to its usefulness. It really just comes down to what you like to shoot with.

·
Registered
1,247 Posts
It looks odd. I have one rifle setup with a 1.5-6x illuminated scope and one with an old Tasco Reddot. I am nearly as fast with the scoped rifle up close as the one with the red dot but I am significantly more accurate with the scoped rifle at distances of 100 yards or more.

·
Registered
3,136 Posts