Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally did it. I've been to two different Academy stores here in the area and a Bass Pro shop near my home but none had the PT 809 in stock. I finally decided I would just go to one store and just order one during my lunch break. So off to this Academy near my office I went. What do I find? They have plenty in stock and on display! Even had a PT 809C. Filled out the paper work and walked out with a brand new PT 809! I'm so stoked!

I didn't buy any ammo because I ran out of time and I don't want to rush, plus I'm a newbie and need to check it out first. I understand the first thing to do is take it apart and clean it. I'll need to get some cleaning supplies for that. Tonight I'll spend some time handling the weapon (unloaded) just getting the feel of it. I know not to "dry fire" it too much.

Any other suggestions?

·
Registered
143 Posts
Congrats on your new 809!! You will love it. Yeah just make you strip it down and clean it well. As far as target ammo I have shooting WWB and Federal with out any problems at all. You will truly love the way it feels in your hand and shoots. Good luck!!

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll pick a box of WWB to start off with when I do buy some. I'm curious about the 124 and 147 grain ammo available in 9mm. I guess it's for those who want a bit more "punch".

·
Registered
703 Posts
Congratulations with your purchase! I own an 809 too and I love it!

I understand that the 9 mm cartridge was designed around the 124 gr. projectile. The advantage of the 115 gr. bullets was more speed (penetration); 147 gr. projectiles were supposed to be more effective due to their greater weight, though that is debatable. Most of the max loads I have in Lee 2nd for 147 gr. FMJs have speeds of less than 1000 fps.