Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone I just signed up and wanted to say hi. My brother has owned many Taurus firearms over the years but I am fairly new to them. I bought a TCP .380 a year ago for summer carry and loved it do much I bought a PT709 to be my everyday carry and gave my TCP to my wife. The TCP is great and I love it. I have never had a problem with it. I can't say that for my PT709 though. I bought it from Gander Mountain only because all my regular dealers were out of guns. I mean there was 15 handguns in the whole place. Thank you Obama. Anyway, The sales guy never let me see the gun. It was still in the plastic bag covered in grease. He never even got it out and checked it. Well when I got home to clean it I noticed the machining on the slide was all messed up. The slde was longer than the frame by a 1/16 of an inch on one side and just stuck out a bit on the other. So one side was machined longer than the other. Also the machining for the backplate was off and the backplate was twisted in the slide. Also the slide grip cuts on the slide were all uneven on one side. Some were shorter and almost unexistant. I called Gander and they basicaly told me since I did not buy their warranty to beat it. Not that a gun with a lifetime warranty needs an extended warranty anyway. So I called Taurus and they sent me a packing slip to send it in. I did and got an email in about three days saying they recieved my handgun and would process it in about 6 weeks. It has been six weeks and still no gun. I called customer service and they said it needs a complete slide assembly but it is on backorder and do not know when it will be in. I can understand a part breaking on a gun after shooting it but my gun should have never left the plant in the condition it was. I mean someone really dropped the ball or just didnt care. I would like to know how is passed quality control being in such bad shape. I under