Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a newbie and have a question. I have had several Taurus revolvers and loved them. I recently bought a 745 Pro Mil. and loved it until it started jamming using HP. She shoots any hardball ammo but don't like those expensive Hornaday SD JHP! Now I am scared and thinking about selling since it jams. I love it, the weight and size has most others beat IMO. Btw, I keep it clean. Has anyone got any suggestions- I really don't want to sell it but I sure am spooked now!

Thanks in advance :)

·
Premium Member
16,168 Posts
Are the hollow points you're using the traditional hollow points with the flat nose and hollow core or the Critical Defense rounds with the plastic tip in the hollow point? My PT1911 will only reliably feed the CD rounds because (I think) the tip gives them a more rounded profile like an FMJ round.

·
Registered
6,735 Posts
I had one that would only feed .230gr Golden sabers, give them a try before giving up on the gun. They are also one of the cheapest self defense rounds out there.

Reactions: Valk and btleslie

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Are the hollow points you're using the traditional hollow points with the flat nose and hollow core or the Critical Defense rounds with the plastic tip in the hollow point? My PT1911 will only reliably feed the CD rounds because (I think) the tip gives them a more rounded profile like an FMJ round.
No they are traditional hollow points. What you are saying makes a lot of sense bc of the rounded tip and will give it a try, I use the CD plastic tips in my LCP and no problems so I'll give it a try even though I should be able to fire most any brand.......I wonder if that was the reason it was discontinued?

·
Registered
373 Posts
Check the feed ramp for any surface scores. My first auto had machine marks and would jam on anything. Dermel with a polishing wheel took care of it.

·
32,766 Posts