Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is the PT1911 9mm basically the same as the 45acp version. I have two Springfield 45 1911's that will take basically all after market parts, does the Taurus PT1911 9mm fit the same conditions. Does anyone have any preferences as to 9mm mags for this gun?

·
Registered
597 Posts
You may be under the assumption that the 1911 has total drop in parts. Not always but alot of times 1911 parts will need to be fitted, even if it is just a slight filing.

The 1911 platform is a design. The caliber is a preference. Taurus has some differences in their weapons, for instance the Ambidex safety makes doing somethings to the weapon require other upgrades. Most aftermarket parts will work usually with a Taurus, but not always, but that can be true of any 1911 caliber or make.

I am no expert on the 1911, but it is very very versatile in any event. I personally feel that the 1911 is supposed to be a .45,that's just me though. To each his own, and no, I do not have a bias against the 9mm, it is a very dependable round when understood and used properly. Hell, the 9mm saved my ass more times than I'm allowed to talk about between 1991 and 1998 while I was enlisted.

·
Registered
140 Posts
In a word - NO - the PT1911 9mm has a ramped barrel, so the frame and the barrel are different from standard 1911's.

On the other hand, I have tried several different manufacturers' 9mm mags in my 9mm PT1911 without any problems.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Maybe I misunderstood, are you asking in you could drop in your .45 parts into a 9mm or vice versa?

Because the differences are more than the Barrel and frame.
you would also have to include
extractor
ejector
firing pin
recoil spring
magazine
slide

I thought we were just talking design, not interchanging parts between the 2.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5