Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well tomorrow I am heading to the range to spend a few hours one on one with an instructor. Been to the range a few times on my own and though I am self impressed with myself, I thought if I am going to do this, I want to do it right.

Is this a common course of action or are most of you just self taught? T

·
Premium Member
16,168 Posts
Most probably learned from their parents or in the military. Good training is a must for anyone wanting to carry or own a gun. Good for you for seeking out training.

Get as much as you can afford to get. Every instructor will do it a bit different and you can learn from them all (the good ones at least).

Reactions: dbeardslee

·
Registered
1,917 Posts
How can training from a competent instructor ever be a bad idea is how I look at it.

Reactions: Wolf1477

·
Registered
7,241 Posts
All should spend time with an instructor most probably don't. Job well done sir!!

·
Registered
18,376 Posts
Tdub I don't know if it's "common" but it sure is a good idea. You have certainly made the right decision. I wish I could afford more training.

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
Parent,Brother,Military,shot competive.

·
Registered
37,348 Posts
A good many new shooters will spend hundreds of dollars and many,many hours trying to learn the art, some do some don't and blame the tool not the operator.
its not a bad idea at all, don't be afraid to ask questions as well.
When you get to a certian point a lot of people are like good Golfers, you know you made a lousy shot even before you see the result,and can figure out what you did wrong (I have a lot of experince doing this!) other times a onlooker can better detect what you are doing.
usually My son is my "find whats wrong", as he knows my shooting style and is a RO with the sheriffs office.
Good Luck and learn a bunch!

·
Super Moderator
14,255 Posts