Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a retired firearms instructor and one of the courses I taught was "Reactive Firearms" which teaches the officer not to rely on their sight picture but to rely on the instinctive point of aim that most people are blessed with. Does anyone here shoot instinctive or is everyone dedicated to sights/laser etc.?

·
Registered
8,150 Posts
I primarily shoot with the sights but sometimes I'll shoot my M94 .22 without, seeing how accurate I can be without them. Sometimes I'm spot on and sometimes I'm way off the mark. I suppose as with anything, the more you practice, the better you get. I've never tried that technique though with anything larger than the .22.

Perhaps the next time I have an opportunity to try with my PT92 I will, just out of curiosity. :)

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It does take some time and a number of rounds but once you get it your there. One thing that may help you is to pick as small a point as possible on your target. If you look big, you'll hit big....look small, hit small.

·
Registered
279 Posts
I usually try to get some of that in when I shoot. At three and seven yards you will be amazed at how accurate you can be. Put an orange dot on a target or a B 27 and just try it sometime.

·
Registered
6,761 Posts
I practice both methods as they both have merit I feel.

I would use point shooting for close, fast and dirty type shooting where my adversary (or adversaries) are too close and I need the speed factor. Or if I'm in a physical position where I can't easily use my sights. The fit/feel of the gun to your hand is important for this style. But if the gun doesn't fit you, you can still learn it so that it does work (issued gun anyone??). For example, Glocks don't point well for me. If I was in law enforcement and was issued a Glock I would have to practice more so that I could point shoot if need be.