Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I am moderately experienced with firearms, and I am new to carrying. Safety is most important to me so; while I am waiting on my license I am thinking through my daily activities to see what might have to change. I have a 2.5 year old and an 11 month old. My wife an I feel that neither child should know that I am carrying, I don't want them reaching for it ect. So I intend to wear my 24/7 G2 .45 Compact inside the waist band in my hidden hybrid holster, here are a few pictures of me carrying.
IMAG0687.jpg IMAG0688.jpg

When my wife an I are together, I will let her carry the baby, but when I go out alone I want to carry and wear the 11 month old. Here is a picture of me carrying the baby on my back with my favorite carrier.
11015861_10152901506944807_8053658085772766974_n.jpg

So here is the plan: I have done a bit of googleing, and I got a few other opinions. Next I think I will try putting on the carrier with no baby, and my pistol unloaded, to see how the two fit and see how the draw would work.

So, here is my question (finally) Has anyone else worn their baby while carrying? What issues can anyone see from carrying and wearing? Are their any other carry methods that I should be considering? Thoughts, opinions, suggestions?

·
Registered
2,513 Posts
From the pictures it looks like the baby's foot may be in the way while you are trying to draw from the 3 o'clock position. You may find appendix carry a bit more suitable for carrying while also wearing the baby carrier.

·
Registered
21,111 Posts
Wearing your baby... interesting wording

·
22,284 Posts
I find the draw extremely difficult with those backpacks. When I need to quick-draw a baby, I prefer a center of the chest rig. :cool:

Seriously though, I agree with dadillac. It looks like the baby might end up using the end of the slide as a footrest with 3:00 carry.