Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was cleaning my 669 tonight, giving it a little TLC and noticed what I, at first, thought was a scratch on the frame to the right of the hammer (by the little screw). On closer inspection I find it looks more like a crack..!! As I am a complete newbie to revolvers can anyone tell me if this is dangerous? Should I stop shooting the gun (bear in mind I only shoot .38 wadcutters and no hot loads at all..). Here are some photos for you learned eyes to peruse..

Sorry guys, forgot to rotate the photos..

Attachments

Administrator
Looks like the side plate seam to me, not a crack.

Reactions: loudviking

That (crack) looks like the side plate seam, which is normal. If you remove the grips, you should see 3 screws holding the side plate on the right side frame of the revolver, and the whole side plate seam. If you decide to remove the side plate for some reason, please find a Utube video of disassembling a revolver first, and use the correct size screw driver bit so the screw heads and slots do not get damaged.

My 669:

P1030642.jpg

Super Moderator
Waiting for someone to say it's a very dangerous condition and that ManxTom needs to send the gun to them immediately.

Registered
Discussion Starter #8
Phew... in the, thankfully, short time I had to wait for answers you can't imagine just how much I have aged...!!!! Well, if you don't ask, you don't find out. Many, many grateful thanks guys. I can breathe again.

Reactions: silverstring

Super Moderator
As they might say in Texas...Git out and shoot that thang! :D

Premium Member
This is why this is a GREAT forum. There are some knowledgeable "gun people" on this board. The best part about it is, if they don't know, they won't blow smoke up your leg. I'm glad the guys could alleviate your concerns.

Registered