Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first gun and i'm VERY new to the handgun world, but i have always wanted one and decided to buy one and give a shot. I was going to go to the range today but found out that they were closed. So i got home and i really wanted to shoot it, so i got my stuff and headed out. It was around six degrees out and no wind. Kinda cold, but i could not wait to shoot it. Anyway, they gave me Blazer 165gr TMJ at the gun shop and at 7yrd's 10 shots i was all over the paper and at 15yrd's in 20 shots i only hit the paper four times. I wanted to go home, but instead i loaded again and kept shooting. I shot all 100rd's that i had bought. At the very end i shot 10 at 7yrd's and 10 at 15yrd's and it to was all over the paper, but i did have 14 hits on the paper at the end. Did i get the right Ammo, or is it just me being new to handguns? I have no problem in the rifle world, but the sights that come on these are very different to me. I hope someone can help me. Also i really like the site and tried to do some looking around before i posted this so i would not feel stupid. Hope someone can help me......

·
Registered
65 Posts
Sounds like a grip problem. First it was cccooolllldddd, so you may not have been comfortable. If you were in a heated
range, forget that.
You need to do some dry firing. Usually its best to do this before you pop some rounds. You just pick a target point and concentrate on that front sight with the back sight and target being fuzily in focus and squeeze off the trigger until it breaks, then you do it again at least 10 times.