Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello i am new to this post and i am going to buy a PT145 this weekend at a very large local gun show here in Houston i have done research on these guns and find bad reviews and good but i was wondering how to tell if a millennium's Gen. is 1,2 or 3
is it just by if it says Pro on it or are there diff. features on it
The reason i ask is it is a very large show and i would like to buy a 3rd Gen. and i dont want to be suckered in by ignorance
also if some one could tell me the diff. between a millennium 745SS and a 745B i see both for sell at local gun shops with about a $80 margin ??? ??? ??? ???

Any response will be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
166 Posts
I am not sure but I plan to go to that same gun show this weekend as well. I just hope my wife will allow me to part with my money and and another gun to my collection.

·
Registered
10,043 Posts
Here's one answer:

745B= blued slide

745SS= stainless steel slide

Remember, the PT745 is of the single stack magazine variety. You'll lose 4 rounds capacity compared to the PT145.

Calling Taurus with the serial number is the definitive way to tell what generation you have. I believe the following will also work but correct me if I am wrong:

1st gen: Has PT145 on the slide (No Pro, No Millenium markings)
2nd gen: Has PT145 on one side and Millenium Pro on the other.
3rd gen: Has PT145 Pro on one side and Millenium on the other.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Do a search............i have seen a writeup with lots of details and also pictures of the different generations. mainly the largest difference is the SA/DA trigger v.s the DAO trigger on gen one. Also, the attachment-rail for lasers or flashlights, but then again who would put those things on a small pistol as the Millenium anyways :)

·
Registered
1,692 Posts