Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering how often i should rotate magazines for home defense? Will the spring become weak if i keep a magazine loaded too long? I have 3 that i can rotate with i am just seeing what you all do with yours?

·
Banned
17,333 Posts
I have heard of mags mags left loaded for many years, I would not sweat it.

·
Registered
9,166 Posts
Keeping springs either loaded or unloaded doesn't weaken the spring, running them at the range will do more damage than leaving them loaded. It may be a good idea to check your mags periodically for feed and function, cleaning and lubrication. But overall you should pretty much be fine.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Being a cop, i break down my service pistol and mags once a month to clean and re-oil them

·
Banned
3,798 Posts
I shoot all of my magazines each time I go to the range, I will clean them about every 200 rounds.

·
Administrator
39,469 Posts
Leaving them loaded or unloaded won't harm them. But if you're more comfortable in rotating them, then by all means do so. I don't, and I've mentioned this before. Have a pistol in the barn that has had the magazine continuously loaded since 1975. Works flawlessly every time I shoot it.

·
Registered
54 Posts