Taurus Firearm Forum banner

Would you ever consider purchasing a Hi-Point firearm?

• No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I have one already

• I have more than one already

• What's a Hi-Point?

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10,043 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I made up this poll just out of curiousity. When I was a cop in NYC we came across many Hi-Point guns confiscated from thugs, gang members, drug dealers, etc. I suppose it's because you can get one for around $100 new.

·
32,654 Posts
The carbine would be what I would look at. I'm in the field for a 9mm.carbine. There are some nice ones out there, but paying the price for a high priced spread one is definetly out.

What's needed is more rugged than a Marlin Camp carbine, but not as pricey as a Beretta or Ruger carbine. Ruger carbines are no longer made and in this area Beretta and Rugers, if can be found, are priced out of sight. Above $700. At that high price a AR180 is sounding good. Want the 9mm. carbine though.
I'm not a gambler with these as far as on-line auctions are considered.

Since the reliability issues have been dealt with for the most part, why not look at one?

Would like feedback from those who have the carbine version.

Kel-tec is out as far as the carbine version go. I tried a Kel-tec carbine. It was nice, but didn't fit well.

·
Registered
6 Posts
They are fine for what they are. Inexpensive reliable guns that go bang everytime you pull the trigger.

The only time people have problems with the pistols is if they limp wrist them. They are pure blowback so will FTF if you limp wrist it.

If you hold them firmly, then they never jam.

The carbine is the best bang for the buck around. I have one and love it. Lots of fun. very reliable.

·
Registered
6,761 Posts
I would consider a new carbine without any reservations. The pistols, well, I haven't heard bad things from anyone who actually owned one but I'm not likely to ever get one. Then again who knows what the future holds.

Steelheart

·
Registered