Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife and I each purchased a new Taurus yesterday. She selected a PT 738 and I chose a PT 740. She has never fired a handgun of any type and I previously owned a Taurus 669 that I carried as a duty weapon when I was a Police Officer in "Podunk", MO, in the early 90's. I always enjoyed my 669 but foolishly sold it when I got out of law enforcement. This is the first semi-auto that I have owned, and haven't fired a handgun since probably 1995. After lots of practice, we plan to enroll in a CCW class and carry our new pistols. We are not even considering a class until we have each fired 500 - 600 rounds through our weapons.

After spending a few hours last night cleaning all the gunk, dust, and dirt from both weapons, today we went to the local Dept. of Conservation range to fire a few rounds. It was much colder than either of us realized, the wind didn't help either so we each only fired 14 rounds. I was quite proud of my wife, all of her first 7 rounds hit the 18"x18" paper target and about 25ft and her second 7 started to form a fairly nice group. I thought that was pretty good given that she had never fired anything other than a .22 rifle in her life and a bit apprehensive about firearms in general. All of my rounds were within 6 or 7 inches, not near what they used to be, but I thought respectable given the weather and length of time since I have fired a handgun. Our goal for the day was not to attain perfection but to merely dispel a little apprehension and get a little feel for our new guns. Therefore, I think our day was successful. The only hiccup with either gun was after the 3rd round her 738's slide locked to the rear, but after checking for a mis-load and releasing the slide forward it fired flawlessly. We are looking forward to more trips to the range in the next few weeks, hopefully with a little warmer weather.

·
Registered
1,120 Posts