Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings from the Alabama Gulf Coast. I've been shooting for 37 years and I've owned several Taurus handguns in my time, so I'm not really a newbie. I do most of the work on my guns, except for machining - that's what warranties are for.
Most of the Taurus handguns I have owned have been Millennium and Millennium Pros; a PT140 Pro, a PT145 Pro, PT745 a 24/7, and a 450T. I'm aware of various past problems with the early Millennium series and the magazine problems of the 24/7 in 45. I have encountered a few problems of my own, but these were mostly limited to light strikes that replacement firing pins instantly corrected.. I did have one recoil guide assembly on a PT745 completely fail in less than 100 rounds. Yes, it was a brand new gun, I always use factory ammo, and I NEVER use +P ammo in any firearm. I doubt that that there is a flaw in the design of the recoil guide assembly, and I truly believe this sort of thing happens rarely. It was most likely a 1 in a 1,000,000 occurrence.
I have had a CCL for quite a few years, and yes, I do carry religiously. My most often carried handgun is a Kahr PM9 with Pearce Grip Extensions for all my flat based mags, Novak low profile rear sights and have installed Nitesiters all around http://www.nitesiters.com/ As a matter of fact, I've installed Nitesiters on all of my other handguns save my Ruger 22/45.
I also carry a Kahr MK40 with MMC adjustable sights (Nitesiters), Pearce Grip Extensions and a Houge Handall Jr. The PM9 normally rides in a DeSantis Nemesis holster in a front pocket. The MK40, and sometimes the PM9, ride in a Galco M5X MATRIX. The MK40 also rides in a Don Hume JIT, along with a spare magazine I carry in a Don Hume 200B Magazine carrier. Sometimes I carry either Kahrs in a Don Hume PCCH IWB Holster if I have to wear a suit - which isn't too darn often.