Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, how is everyone? I just wanted to introduce myself to you all. I am relatively new to the active use of taurus fire arms. My father, who was a constable, had left for me 2 of his revolvers. One is a S&W police 38 special. I'm not sure what the model number is as there is a different grip on it and I haven't gotten around to looking at the number. The other, my pride and joy of his revolvers, is a Taurus. It is a model 86 .38 special. Beautifully blued with the nice checkered Brazilian hardwood grip. It is a very beefy and well balanced weapon. Firing it is spectacular. This has to be one of the best revolvers I have fired. Being out in the backwoods areas we normally have home made ranges on the many acres owned by friends and family. This is all well and good, but now that I feel confident in shooting as well as the importance of safety of fire arms over the years I feel ready to get my CCW. I have an issue that presents its self. The 86 is the model I feel most comfortable with. I do have a police belt, black leather, with matching belt holsters for the 86 and S&W. These are ridiculously long and leave the entire revolver, boom end and wood end exposed. This is unacceptable. I would like to be some what courteous about this and not cause a panic or worry anyone. Its not my style to go out and be flashing it off. If at most, since I am a bigger guy and wear longer shirts most times such as the ones that are supposed to be tucked in, I would only want to shot the boom end. Even then concealed in a nylon holster for comfort. Does anyone have any ideas on a manufacturer for somthing like this? I looked for it through google, called the locals and they say they can't really see anything that would fit that. Sounds like hog wash to me but hey, I'm not the sales person. So please, if anyone has experience with this let me know. Also glad to be part of this group. I know this