Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5,231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am sure this has been discussed before. I am relatively new to the world of shotguns, and have never owned one. Hence my "noob" questions.

Which one is better for HD - The standard shoulder stock? Or the shoulder stock with a pistol grip? Any advantage of one over the other?

Also, we are still residing in the condo and am still debating 12 GA vs the 20 GA. Thoughts, please.

Walmart has the Stevens (Savege, made in China) and Maverick (Mossberg 500 clone with some parts made in Mexico) for $199. The Maverick is available in both 12 and 20. :) Thinking of getting one of the two. Any recommendations.

Let the gun p0rn begin.

Reactions: tazelmo

·
Administrator
35,567 Posts
The standard shoulder stock is always better. Using a shotgun with a pistol grip can be interesting because you can't hold the shotgun up in front of your face to look at the front sight. You have to hold it down and a bit away from your face so that you don't get a mouth full of pistol grip. :D

There are situations where a pistol grip makes sense but I would rather use a shoulder stock.

·
Registered
5,072 Posts
Glad you asked that question...I'm in the same boat as you but leaning toward the 20 because of inexperience, age, recoil and Mas Ayoob's recommendation I saw on youtube.

Yeah, and what Texas just said.

Reactions: GunsandNoses

·
Registered
12,331 Posts
Indoors the pistol grip is going to be easier to move around with because it's shorter. Outdoors the shoulder stock is better, IMHO. As far as gauge - my dad gave me a 20 gauge when I was 14. I loved it, but I always wished it was a 12. You'll get more pellets, and the recoil isn't that much more severe than a 20.

·
Registered
5,231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
shotgun-atf.jpg

Just to be sure, am comparing pic #2 and #3 (from the top). It's not really a straight pistol grip like the Mossberg JIC.

·
Registered
19,167 Posts