Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Both me and my wife have AZ CCW. I carry Taurus TCP all the time and I want to get my wife a carry handgun. With this I need help. My wife is a beginner when it comes to handguns. We both took all day CCW class and she shot my PT 24/7 Pro in .40. She did great! However with her being a beginner I don't think TCP is the best gun for her. Even my TCP after 50 or so rounds is clunky to chamber and I have had malfunctions with certain ammo. Not to knock the TCP, I LOVE it! The difference is that I am experienced around guns and I know how to chamber round properly and how to un-jam it if it happens. However my wife would not know what to do especially in stressful situation. With both the TCP and the 24/7 the slide remains in open position after mag is empty. If magazines were to be exchanged the slide stop is hard to release. My wife was unable to release the slide stop on my 24/7 with one finger after she changed mags, she had to use two fingers...

I am leaning towards getting her a hammer less revolver chambered to .38 special +P capable. There is about 7oz difference between revolvers chambered to .357 and .38 special! The .38+P rounds have enough stopping force. I like the revolver for her because of easy to use, won't jam and size is not crucial since she won't carry it on her person most likely in her purse or car. The main concern for her is when she closes the store she works at 10pm or later and has to walk to her car in dark parking lot.

What I don't like about the revolver is the price. in $400+ range for decent one... On the other hand TCP can be had for $220...

I would like to hear from members who has been in similar situation and what did you end up doing...

·
Premium Member
16,956 Posts
I recently bought a M-85 UL at a LGS for 325.00 OTD. I like the little bugger and it is now my summer CC....

1.1 USA.gif

·
Member Emeritus 1946-2018
35,996 Posts