Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Purchased new GX4 (with C in the serial number). Oiled it and took it to the range to break in and had a heck of a time getting through first 50 rounds. Multiple (over 15) failure to feed, several failure to fully chamber (sorry if that’s not the terminology ). Got home
Wood Finger Paper towel Toilet paper Household supply

and inspected and I noticed both magazines had damage to the plastic follower, a groove where it looks like the bullet turns up toward the feed ramp. I’m new to shooting and wonder if anyone knows
1) what causes this ?
2) will this cause further issues ?

I haven’t seen any forums mentioning this issue.
Thanks ,
GGG

sorry about pic in middle of post :)

· Registered
631 Posts
I checked both of my mags and both have about the same amount of wear as yours.

Like you, I had multiple failures to feed with a new handgun but it was a Ruger LCP Max. I contacted their customer service and they sent me another slide assembly with barrel and that fixed the issues. That’s why I don’t believe it’s the magazines

Couple of things you might try - Hand polish the barrel ramp with Mother’s Mag polish or Flitz, whatever you have on hand.

Or contact Taurus Customer Service and let them fix it. From what I’ve been reading lately, it’s taking them about 10 business days to get it fixed and back to you. Not bad at all.

· Registered
64 Posts
Purchased new GX4 (with C in the serial number). Oiled it and took it to the range to break in and had a heck of a time getting through first 50 rounds. Multiple (over 15) failure to feed, several failure to fully chamber (sorry if that’s not the terminology ). Got home View attachment 494809
and inspected and I noticed both magazines had damage to the plastic follower, a groove where it looks like the bullet turns up toward the feed ramp. I’m new to shooting and wonder if anyone knows
1) what causes this ?