Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bear with me here. Since I'm new to handguns and am looking to make a couple more purchases (revolver for the Mrs. and another handgun for myself), I need a little help with the decision process. I'm trying to decide between a 24/7 OSS or a high capacity (14 round) Para Ordnance Gun Rights 1911. I love 1911's. Shot one, loved it, want one badly, but also want the high capacity that standard 1911's lack, hence the 1911 in question. But, a big thing with me is dirt getting in the weapon. I like camping and being outdoors, so natually, the possiblity of getting some dirt or mud in the weapon exists. I've seen the videos of 24/7's being dropped in mud, being run over, etc. and still performing fine. If you were to perform the same torture test on a 1911, would it still function fine like the 24/7 or a Glock? Some folks tell me that 1911's are super reliable and dirt / mud won't hinder their performance any more than a 24/7 would be hindered by dirt or mud. Other folks tell me that since newer 1911's are so tight, that a few grains of sand will cause misfires, FTF, jams, etc. I've been told that the WWII and Vietnam era 1911's were so resistant to dirt and mud related issues becuase they were loose; that you could shake them and hear them rattle. Since the old era 1911's were loose, were they like a Glock or 24/7 and could take some dirt and mud and still function fine? Are newer 1911's so tight that any dirt / mud would cause MORE problems than with a 24/7 or similar polymer pistol? I just don't want to be camping, somehow get some dirt or mud in the 1911 when I need to use it, and it doesn't work properly. Thanks for any help clearing this up and helping with my noob-ness.

·
Registered
6,761 Posts