Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
666 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got to cast my own bullets yesterday. This is my first attempt to cast, and pan-lube.

All the castings came out great. I cast a bunch for .45 ACP (190 grain SWC), .357 mag (158 grain SWC), and .380 ACP (102 grain RN). Today I made up some Darr lube and lubed up the .45's and the 380's. The .357's got the LLA tumble treatment.

With a little luck, I'll get some loaded tonight and then off to the range tomorrow. :clap:

·
Registered
2,941 Posts
Glad to hear they turned out well for you. I've been toying with the idea for some time now but just haven’t made the commitment. What type of equipment are you working with?

·
Registered
666 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm working with a Lee production pot IV, a single cavity Lee mold for the 190gn .452 SWC, and Lee 2 cavity molds for the 158gn .358 and 102gn .357 bullets. I pan lubed the bullets for the 45 ACP and 380 ACP, and used Lee Liquid Alox for the tumble lube .38sp/.357 mag bullets. The lead was salvaged from the indoor pistol range at my club.

My pan lube is a variation of the DARR recipe. I melted together 16 oz of paraffin, 13 oz of petroleum jelly, and one crayon (for color). That's a 55/45 ratio.

·
Super Moderator
35,082 Posts
I've cast with my Lee pot for 25 years or better. It still does the job. I have mostly Lee molds, double cavity for the most part. I kinda want some 6 hole gang molds for some of my fave bullets. I always buy a double cavity. If the bullet don't work, I ain't lost much. Occasionally, I'll get a bullet that just don't work in my guns, a 124 TC .356" mold is a shining example. My two 9s HATE it, actually keyholes. Some of my better ones, .358 158 grain SWC, both gas checked and plain base, 200 SWC double lube .452", 255 grain .452" flat nose, 105 grain .358" I size to .357 and shoot in .38, .380ACP AND 9x19 (very accurate), 148 grain .358" WC. There are others.

·
Registered
3,749 Posts