Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have limited experience with stricter fire guns. I am however considering a Taurus 24/7 in 45. If I am not mistaken it is a striker fired but has a decocker. How does this work? Do you have to re-rack the slide to cock it again?

For that matter how does a da/sa trigger work on a striker fired gun?

One last thing, does the 24/7 have a "safe trigger" like the glocks and xds?

·
Registered
2,850 Posts
What the de-cocker does is to decock the firearm after the firearm has been cocked, much like slowly releasing the firing hammer on traditional guns. As with many firearms some people are uncomfortable carrying a firearm that is cocked. On my 24/7 G2 the DA/SA actions as follows: I do not have to re-rack the slide to be ready to fire, on the first shot the trigger has a longer harder pull that "cocks" the striker. After firing the gun converts to SA mode and subsequent pulls are no quite as long or hard. Upon completion of shooting you can either leave the striker cocked which the makes the next shot SA or you can use the de-cocker and make the next shot DA.

My 24/7 G2 does have a trigger safety like the glocks and XDs that mus be satisfied before allowing the firearm to fire.

I hope this helps and answers your question.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It does thanks. I guess I was unclear on a striker being cocked. I was under the impression the the slide moving back is what cocked the striker

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Also what is the DA and SA lbs pull rating on the 24/7 triggers. Are they different for the different calibers

·
Registered
2,850 Posts
Also what is the DA and SA lbs pull rating on the 24/7 triggers. Are they different for the different calibers