Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
3,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I think I know the difference but I'd really like to know the truth.

Will the FMJ 9mm leave a small hole clean through?
I assume hollow point breaks apart staying inside leaving more total damage.

Am I close?

· Registered
2,418 Posts
I'm no expert. But FMJ will most likely go clean through it's target in self defense. A hollow point is made to expand. With a 9mm it will mnost like go clean through as well. But exit with a bigger hole. The more it expands, the better the stopping power.

· Registered
1,311 Posts
Go out to you tube or google the question and you will get a complete visual explanation and examples.

Short version, fmj 9mm will in all likelihood pass through a person with little holes, in and out, and hit anything in back of the person. Bad scenario.

Jhp will expand on impact creating a large hole IF it exits. Most cases in a center mass shot it will penetrate, expand and stay in the body. If it exits out it would be limited mass that would reduce "collateral" damage.

There are experts here that are very good in this area and could give a better ballistic explanation.

· Registered
12,877 Posts