Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I live in PA. I recently bought some throwing knives just to have fun with in the back yard. My question is, am I allowed to carry these if I wanted to, as a backup to my TCP 380? I have a CWP, not sure if there is a separate one for throwing knives or does my permit cover both?:confused:

·
Registered
20,085 Posts
Yeah - you need to consult your state laws. No way everyone (anyone?) can address all state concealed carry laws nationwide. Many to cover other types of weapons - true. I have to double check MO laws on occasion just to make sure I'M good in my own state. I do know that many smaller municipal governments have their own separate knife laws and that the issue CAN get sticky once looked into. Good luck and post up results. Try local and state arms forums as well.

Reactions: tcox4freedom

·
Registered
2,418 Posts
I like throwing knives. I'm not good at it. But I'm not too bad either.

·
Registered
6,735 Posts
Depends on the State, my Iowa license is only good for handguns. No shotgun under my trenchcoat here, also no machetes, I think the blade length limit is 5" but not sure.

·
Super Moderator
21,720 Posts
As far as I know and I am not sure the only State that allows Knives and throwing stars is Kentucky. Its not allowed in TN I just happen to have read their laws as I travel through the State.

·
Registered
355 Posts
Mine in North Dakota is a cwl for "firearms and dangerous weapons". Thia includes throwing knifes-stars nun-chucks and knifes over 5 inches in length.

·
Administrator
35,567 Posts
You need to know what your state considers a concealed weapon and if it's permitted or not. In Texas, a CHL (concealed HANDGUN license) wouldn't cover anything besides a handgun. Some states are very different.

·
Registered
45 Posts