Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have mainly pistols, and the ones I have are not light. In comments made on TaurusArmed I decided to buy a Taurus 85UL for pocket carry mainly because of the light weight, smaller size, and positive comments made on this site. So, I admit, I am new to revolvers. On my first time out I started on a box of Remington 38 specials and before I finished the box black oil was dripping from the trigger and the cylinder latch. It got pretty warm. Then the trigger went limp and the cylinder stop/bolt did not pop back out. I started out by shooting SA and then switched to DA and was on the 4th round when this happened. I unloaded it, and closed the cylinder. I then tried to pull the hammer back and as I did the cylinder stop/blot popped up. All seems okay and I am waiting for a dealer to get some snap caps in so that I can see if this happens again trying DA mode. I have not shot it since. Has this happened to anyone else or is this normal? Needless to say I am new to revolvers. Any comments welcome.

(Noted in another post someone with a 651 and his trigger locked up. This is not what happened on mine. The trigger was not locked but it did click when you pulled it but the cylinder did not turn.)

I did clean it before shotting it and I assumed the black oil was from the packing oil getting hot and discolored by the burnt powder. Could it be something else?

Also, I did notice that the cylinder stop rides on the cylinder and has made a circle on the cylinder. Is this also normal?

·
Super Moderator
35,021 Posts