Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
And also accused of not rendering aid after the dog mauling is over. In addition they delayed calling for a medic because they allegedly didn't know exactly where they were and wanted to wait until they had their exact location before calling for one. :(

When I was a rookie on day one my training officer expected me to know whenever he asked me what road I was on, what direction of travel, and what the nearest cross street was, period, no excuses. And we didn't have GPS either. Granted that's not like saying "Go 450 feet down an alley 200 feet past Elm street (for example) but still good enough for another unit to be on the way.

These are just allegations, don't know how much of it is true. I mainly posted this because it relates to concealed carry in a way. In the original story about the guy being mauled is he wasn't carrying anything to defend himself with. He probably wasn't expecting it, but that's why it's important to carry something, for the unexpected. Even something small and light would've been better than nothing. It's too bad the story wasn't "Man shoots dog" instead of him getting killed. :( The police did eventually shoot the dog but it was too late by that point.

Here's just a couple of small segments of the story. :( (underling added by me)

After watching a cruiser camera video of the incident, Dayton police Sgt. Michael Pauley, the responding officers’ supervisor, said he was “horrified.”

“I didn’t go to sleep the next day after watching it,” said Pauley during an interview with internal affairs detectives. “I couldn’t believe what I had watched.”

Pauley said he worried about the potential harm the police cruiser video from the incident would do to the department because he felt there was no way to explain why the officers did not try to help Brown for nine minutes.
and