Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Super Moderator
19,638 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just ordered a Crossbreed Supertuck Deluxe in order to cc my new RIA 4" 1911. I have been ccing my MilPros with a minituck for a couple of years with no problem although, even though it is a closed rear gun, there was a little grease accumulation on the holster tab early on but never on clothes.

My concern is my clothes (t-shirts when worn with an with outer shirt) - will oil and grease rub off the open rear/open hammer of the 1911 enough to worry about? I plan on wiping it down with a silicone cloth before each carry session but was just wondering. I did not get the combat cut option so I'm thinking the height and width of the leather tab will be enough to keep the inner/T shirt clean but it offers no real protection for an outer shirt (tucked or not); just figured I'd check before I ruined something and made the little woman mad!

·
Premium Member
16,955 Posts
So's long as you don't lube that pistola with automotive wheel bearing grease I think you will be OK. I been packin' around a 1911 for as long as I can remember ( gittin' shorter ) and my biggest problem is not cleaning it often enough and having it get full of pocket lint and other crud....

1.1 USA.gif

·
Registered
10,614 Posts
I've never had any problem with grease or oil on any of my shirts. But I keep the excess to a bare minimum and wipe it down so I don't get grease or oil stains. A light application (no more than a drop or two) is all that is needed to properly lubricate a pistol.

·
Registered
7,241 Posts
I prefer IWB holsters with a slide/hammer shield. My favorite is a Don Hume PCCH.

·
Registered
537 Posts