Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am expecting a pretty good lump of cash around January 15th and I've decided to spend some of it on a gun. I have two guns that I am considering and what I'm looking for is someone who has owned one or both of them that can give me a comparison or tell me why they like one or the other better. While I have two guns in mind I am not against other suggestions. My budget is between $1500 and $2,000 and I want a 1911.

The two guns are a Colt and a Dan Wesson. I already own 3 Colt 1911s and If I buy a colt it will be a stainless Gold Cup trophy. I don't have a particular model of Dan Wesson in mind yet but I do want stainless. I know the Dan Wessons are made under the CZ name and I have no experience with a Dan Wesson semi-auto. I don't know anyone who has a Dan Wesson that I can shoot myself.

If anyone has any experience with these guns I would appreciate if you would share it

Don

·
Premium Member
3,396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Between Colt and Dan Wesson, I'll go with Dan Wesson every time.
Oh yeah, I own both.
Why do you prefer the Dan Wesson? What model is it? And I am assuming it's a 45 ACP?

Don

·
Registered
24,960 Posts
Why do you prefer the Dan Wesson? What model is it? And I am assuming it's a 45 ACP?

Don
The fit and finish is superior to Colt. IMO, Colt has been riding on their name for a period of time.
Going back to Dan Wesson, You're getting something that is very close to a custom 1911. It's not going to be an Ed Brown, Les Baer, Wilson Combat or Nighthawk Custom, but it'll compete with some of those I mentioned. Try to compare them side by side, I think Dan Wesson will hold its own.

Dan Wesson Products Archive - Dan Wesson

I have a Dan Wesson CBob, which they brought back by demand. I have a couple of Colts, but compare the Mark IV to the CBob and it's not close.

·
Registered
37,070 Posts