Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are the advanges of having a CHL vs not having one. Im really new to the gun hobby and Im looking into getting a CHL but just want some info on what a CHL intitles you too.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Depending on your state laws, you get to carry your handgun concealed most places so those late night trips to the stop and rob ( 711 )
don't turn out bad for you, and now at least you have some control of your own destiny, I work afternoon shift and it's comforting to have for the trip home, also great for that late night food craving like breakfast at 2 AM

·
Registered
130 Posts
Frostyeyes is correct, go to your local court house or wherever they issue them and get a book on your state laws and just weigh the options. If the laws are pretty loose as to when and where you can carry then it definetly is worth the piece of mind.

·
Registered
6,761 Posts
It give you the option to carry if you so chose. Yes, you can carry without one but if you are stopped and it is discovered you are likely screwed.

Another thought is that once you have it you have it. Its much better than needing it (say if a family member has their life threatened) and you don't have it. I can just decide if I need to up-gun before heading out the door to pick someone up. I don't have to decide if I am willing to risk breaking the law to have the ability to be armed to protect myself.

And yes, being armed is comforting heading home in the wee hours of the morning.

And in Mn the permit also functions as a purchase permit. The purchase permit need to be renewed every year where the carry permit is good for 5 years, but the purchase is free and the carry is $100.

A handy site for research is: http://www.handgunlaw.us/

Steelheart

·
Registered
128 Posts