Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have quick Q for my fellow Texans i took my class at the first of the year(2008) but im a college student so i didnt have the money to send it in. well i paid for the state fees online about 5 to 6 weeks ago so the state got there money automatically. they sent me a email saying it is all paid for. Now this is were it gets tricky i check online about every week on the status of my license well it reads "No license/permit active" well i know im dealing with the state so they may not change or update the status at all and one day it could just show up if the U.S. mail service ever want to do there job.

so my Q is how long does it usally take i have a totaly clean record. i never even got a ticket for that matter
so what taking so long

·
Registered
285 Posts
The earliest that they claim is 45 days after they begin processing your application, but can be as long as 180 days. It took exactly 92 days before I got mine. After day 45, I began calling to check on my app. My status changed to "License Mailed to Applicant" the day before it arrived in the mail. I'd recommend giving them a call especially if it has been since Jan or even feb.

·
Premium Member
15,931 Posts
Not from Texas, but I read somewhere it can be 100 days. I am sure someone will come along soon with the correct answer.

I am in KY, and filed the paperwork with the local sheriff on the 24th of March, they cashed their check on the 31 of March. But here we give the Sheriff part, and the KSP (Kentucky State Police) their part. I have been waiting and finally decided to check and see if anything had gone thru. They say 6 weeks at least. Well on May 1, roughly 5 weeks, KSP cashed my check so I must be close. Then they mail a packet to me, that I take to the Sheriff to get my actual carry permit.

So I am getting more anxious every day. I can understand how you feel. that is for sure.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts