Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5,231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, as spring/summer/fall is upon us - and the both of us have been working for almost 2 years without a break - we are thinking of a vacation.

Thinking of running across ND in to MT and checking out Yellowstone and all the other places. Then heading back in to SD and going through Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore and possibly even Devils Tower in WY. Not quite sure of the itinerary just yet. But what I am certain of is taking along my PT111 or BT380 (or a new pocket pistol!) for the 10 days on the road.

I am a MN resident; and have a valid MN permit. Now, I know that my permit is not valid in ND (my office is in Fargo) and I face this on a daily basis. However, the reciprocity is valid (as of today) in the other states. I was wondering if anyone carries in to other states and what their experiences have been with with LEOs in these situations? And for you MT residents - what is a wildlife management area? The app on my tablet says, cannot carry in to Wildlife Management Areas.

·
Registered
7,241 Posts
Don't do anything illeagal and you should never find out what an out of state LEO experience is like. I've carried across state lines for years and have had 0 encounters.

·
Registered
1,792 Posts
Looks like your permit is valid in AK, AR, AZ, IA, ID, IN, KS, KY, LA, MI, MO, MS, MT, NE, NC, OK, SD, TN, UT, VA, VT, WI, and WY.

As for crossing into other states, regardless of whether or not they have CCW reciprocity with your state, you must obey all gun laws of that state, or you could end up with a charge that gets your CCW, and perhaps your right to own firearms at all, revoked.

Carrying in Wildlife Management Areas is state by state... some allow it, others don't; you'll need to check each state you plan to visit.

·
Registered
7,241 Posts