Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to handguns, revolvers, and Taurus... as of Sunday. I paid $355 for a used Model 66 .357 mag with a 6 inch barrel.

I haven't actually received it yet, but I am trying to get some help so I know what to do when the gun arrives. It has a little discoloration on the barrel, and a little rust at the seams of the parts of the gun. It looks kinda like I might need to tear it down completely to clean it up, but I'd like a few opinions. I tried to attach the only picture that I have, so I hope you can see it.

I am also a little concerned about the length of the barrel. A 5' barrel seems to be just about perfect, but I don't think Taurus makes one... especially not in a 7 shot config. Can this barrel be cut down? If so, how would I go about doing that, and do you think it could be done for around $50?

Thanks for any and all help!

Attachments

·
Registered
36,611 Posts
I see no reason that the barrel could not be shortened?
some revolver expert may tell us why It can't!
BUT you gonna need to take it o a GOOD gunsmith to have it done right.
also you will need a new front sight, and NO, there I no way that a Good gunsmith will do this for 50 bucks!
you are going to end up with a lot more in this gun than you can ever get out of it, live with the 6 inch barrel Is what I would do!

·
Registered
6,892 Posts
I'd probably avoid cutting it, and instead just get a new barrel
https://www.gunpartscorp.com/Manufa...64/MediumFrame-38365/66-37358.htm?results=All
looks like they have 4" models available

One thing to note, numrich has 2 model 66's listed a older and newer, not sure which yours is, but i went with the newer for the page i linked, if you need the other one, make sure you go to its page, and you will need a extractor in the new length as well, not sure what all else you will need to swap it out.