Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this may be a dumb question excuse me im still new to firearms...but i just have to know ;D

can someone please list the power of calibers (22, 45, 357, 38, 9mm etc.) in order from weakest to strongest or reverse? juts curious because I the only calibers I have shot were 9mm, 45acp and 22. thanx ppl and have a merry christmas :)

·
Registered
663 Posts
mikefed9mm said:
this may be a dumb question excuse me im still new to firearms...but i just have to know ;D

can someone please list the power of calibers (22, 45, 357, 38, 9mm etc.) in order from weakest to strongest or reverse? juts curious because I the only calibers I have shot were 9mm, 45acp and 22. thanx ppl and have a merry christmas :)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_handgun_cartridges

JimL

·
Registered
6,000 Posts
well im not going to list every caliber because there is often variants or predecessor's in the same caliber.

easiest example is .22 there is .22 short, .22 long, and .22long rifle, not counting the CB and BB round which contain no powder and have the aprox power of a pellet gun. only 22lr is commonly used anymore..

if you want to really look at different calibers then check wiki out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_handgun_cartridges

heres my break down.

1. .22lr
2. .38specal
2. .380 (fairly close to the .38spl but in autoloader rimless)
3. 9mm
4. .40
5. .45acp
6. .357mag (can also shoot .38spl if it's a revolver, very few autos use .357)

if you're going ot a range use .22 if you can.. or 9mm, those are basicly the two cheapest rounds you can get.

.38spl is good for .357 revolvers cause they cost less then magnum ammo.

.38spl/.380 is about the lowest i wanna go for SD/HD, although i would'nt feel to bad about using a .32..