Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4,860 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dumb question #23-

Tell me- Is Break free gun cleaner the same thing as brake cleaner that you get at the auto parts store?

·
Registered
860 Posts
No; Break-free CLP cleans, lubricates, and protects. Brake cleaner removes grease and oil as well as the bluing off a firearm.

·
Registered
29,949 Posts
Lots of gun cleaners to choose from nowadays...

But I've been using Breakfree CLP for 21 years with very good results.

As it's name implies, it was designed to Clean, Lubricate, and Protect firearms.

·
Registered
3,988 Posts
Breakfree does make a cleaner similar to Gunscrubber called Powder Blast. It works about the same too and is available even at Walmart. I've found little difference in either Gunscrubber or Powder Blast on my guns. Breakfree CLP is also sold at Walmart with Winchester's name on it but same stuff.

·
Registered
12,331 Posts
No; Break-free CLP cleans, lubricates, and protects. Brake cleaner removes grease and oil as well as the bluing off a firearm.
Huh? I've been using brake cleaner (mostly acetone) for years, and have never removed the bluing. Wouldn't recommend the chlorinated stuff though. It's a great degreaser and leaves no residue. I managed to take the bluing off with kerosene once, but that was after an 18 month soak.

·
Registered
4,860 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks guys- I can see it now.
I have a can of Break Free Powder Blast, PB Blaster, and brake cleaner side by side.

·
Registered
292 Posts
IMO if you need to use CLP you might need to clean your gun more often. In my experiance, CLP is for heavy duty cleaning on dirty guns.

·
Super Moderator
21,631 Posts
I do use CLP with a borsnake for when I can't get to a good cleaning. But I like good old Hoppes #9 for the deep scrubbing.

Reactions: pavehawk

·
Registered
190 Posts