Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a decent amount of .380 that I bought for my TCP for practicing get off me drills for a backup gun scenario. I'd like to get a 380 for some plinking and showing the kids how to shoot a little bit of a bigger caliber. My local RK has 2 bersa 380s for 249 a piece. I have no experience with Bersa as a brand and wanted to get the communities thoughts before I made the purchase. So what's the good and bad to the Bersa?

·
Registered
2,918 Posts
I have a Bersa Thunder 380, which I like fairly well.
It's a knockoff copy of the Walther PPK; that way I can pretend I'm James Bond.
I bought it for my wife, but she thinks it's too "complicated", (she thinks that about all semi-autos).

I was impressed enough that I bought a Bersa Thunder 22 to go along with it.
The 22 version does not like cheap bulk ammo, but does well with high velocity .22LR.

·
Registered
355 Posts
Frame is aluminum alloy and prone to cracking. It's a step up from zamak but not a very big step. parts count is too high for something so small and cheap imo. Just way too much going on trying to fit da/sa into a pocket gun. Add in that most of these small parts are mim and you are just asking for issues. People love them but I doubt they are putting thousands of rounds through them. You can find older ones with steel frames but expect to pay an extra $100 for one of those. As long as you don't put more than a few hundred rounds through it, it should serve you well and be much more accurate than you would think.

·
Registered
32,714 Posts