Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to handguns. My question is on a Tracker 922ss which barrel is more accurate a 4" or 6"?

GregA

·
Registered
6,715 Posts
As a general rule, the longer the barrel, the more accurate it is. That being said, I doubt that anyone but an expert marksman would be able to produce enough of a noticeable and consistent difference on paper to be able to actually see it.

As for a particular gun, it's a crap shoot. I've seen 3 or 4 inch barrel guns that will shoot circles around the same model gun with a longer barrel.

·
Registered
5,498 Posts
Welcome to the forum.^ pretty much covered it.Barrel length is often dictated by how you plan to use the gun.

·
Registered
3,411 Posts
The accuracy of a particular length of barrel is not only the mechanical function of stabilizing the bullet (a longer barrel = more time to stabilize), imparting velocity (longer barrel = more velocity, up to a point); it is also the function of the length of the sight plane (how far apart the front and rear sights are). A longer barrel = longer sight plane, which contributes to better accuracy.

·
Registered
29,957 Posts
:r_c: If a revolver is intrinsically accurate from the factory, the barrel length doesn't mean squat in this equation.

What makes longer barrels "appear" to be more accurate in the "hands of men" is the fact that a longer sight radius reduces group spoiling minor sight movements thus enhancing the shooter's shooting skills.

·
Registered
9,585 Posts