Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was talking to a local county sheriff the other day, and asked him without a CCW, how can I tranport my semi-auto pistol, and he told me technically I could wear it unloaded on my hip, so long as it is not concealed by anything. But he said, if another person feels threatened by it's sight, they can file charges on me.

And wouldn't you know it, my CCW came in the next day.

So, my question is, can I legally carry my 24/7 Pro on a hip holster outside the pants, loaded or not, and if someone can see it in the holster, can I get charges filed against me, just from the sight of it?

·
Registered
6,761 Posts
This might be a better question for a Washington State firearms forum. They'll know better the local laws and how they are enforced. Or ask for clarification from your carry course instructor on this.

Steelheart

·
Registered
276 Posts
JFree,

I am a Seattle resident and just went throught the process of getting my Concealed Pistol License (CPL). As I understand the state laws from the little pamphlet provided, you may carry your pistol openly in public without a CPL. It can't be carried loaded unless you do have a CPL and the weapon is concealed from public view. You may also publicly carry the pistol in a vehicle as long as it is not loaded and in open view. However, you can't leave the pistol in a vehicle unless it is concealed from site and locked up.

The brandishing law is RCW 9.41.270 "It shall be unlawful for any person to carry, exhibit, display or draw any firearm, dagger, sword, knife or other cutting or stabbing instrument, club, or any other weapon apparently capable of producing bodily harm, in a manner, under circumstances, and at a time and place that either manifests an intent to intimidate another or that warrants alarm for the safety of other persons."