Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
561 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I asked awhile back about what was the best AR or M4 for under a $1000.00. I asked my Father if he'd sell me his Colt AR15 that was bought about 30 years ago. Its hardly been shot, so is there anything i should look for with particular rifle?

·
21,932 Posts
Colt AR's are usually expensive so even if its older it could be a good deal.

I have the S&W M&P15 and love it.

·
Registered
202 Posts
I asked awhile back about what was the best AR or M4 for under a $1000.00. I asked my Father if he'd sell me his Colt AR15 that was bought about 30 years ago. Its hardly been shot, so is there anything i should look for with particular rifle?
Yes. But 1st educate yourself.

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]So you want to buy an AR-15, huh?

Please note this is just a start. Good luck to you.
[/FONT]

·
Registered
1,316 Posts
I'm not an expert on colts or anything, but there's nothing in particular that I can think of apart from the usual stuff (look for pitting in bore, check function, etc just like you would on any other used gun). If you were buying it from someone else I would suggest you check the roll marks to verify that all of the parts are still colt, but given who your buying from I wouldn't expect any dishonesty. As long as it's been properly stored, and if it has a low round count like you say, you should have a great pre-ban carbine that should need little to no attention.

These pre-ban guns (especially their stripped lowers) are like gold for AR15 owners in some of the more communists US states that only allow ownership of pre-ban guns.

·
Registered
12,331 Posts