Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm just getting into reloading and after spending a few sessions with my mentor, I was wondering where everyone is getting their supplies from?

I'm planning on ordering a press, tumbler, and dies to load 9mm, .40s&w, and .45acp as well as .223/5.56 rifle rounds.

The guy thats teaching me has a single stage as well as a turret style press--both are dillon. While nice they are a little expensive and I'm leaning more towards the single stage from lee due to price & the fact that it will be used for rifle & pistol cartridges.

Any advise regarding the lee equipment as well as any recommended reading/accessories will be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
199 Posts
ive got a lee classic turret, you can find them in a kit with scale, powder measure, priming system among other things for around $200.
you can either use it as a turret press or remove the indexing rod and use it single stage.
and to switch between calibers is as easy as lifting out the turret and dropping the new one in with the dies already set up.
just my 2 cents. :D

i bought mine from cabelas for $220 because they were offering $2 shipping at the time. midway usa usually has them for a few dollars cheaper.

Reactions: BBGun and BW64

·
Registered
2,102 Posts
Get on youtube and check out a video about the Lee Classic Turret press, most informative one is by ammosmith, and I'll 2nd what Gregg Gose posted buy it in a kit.

·
Super Moderator
36,030 Posts
I have a Lee Deluxe turret kit and like it a lot. Poke around in the reloading section for pros/cons of various presses. There is a discussion that's less than a week old and many others that compare them in depth.

Congrats on making the decision to start up, show us a picture of your bench when you're making ammo!

Reactions: BBGun

·
Registered
1,347 Posts