Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you were to decide, which gun will you buy? and why? I've decided to get one of these by the end of the month. So please feel free to give me your comments and suggestions. :D

·
Registered
6,000 Posts
i would definitely get the 92 unless maybe you're gonna CC, then the 909 would be better.

Im actually looking for a 909 right now.. i can't find one locally new or used.
buds has them for 430 i think.. but im not willing to pay more then 375 nib.

·
Registered
8,150 Posts
I have no hands-on experience with the 909 so I'll limit my comments to the PT92. Mine is my favorite pistol, period. It's accurate, durable & reliable and I've never had a failure to feed or eject. I had one failure to fire but that wasn't the pistol's fault, rather a dud round.

I've heard some mention the grip feels a bit thick to them so that may or may not be an issue for you, but did wish to mention it. To me it fits perfectly in my hand and since I've swapped out the factory grips for a set of rubber Hogues it feels even better.

From the comments I've read from others on the PT909, it's a fine pistol too and either one should serve you well.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've held the 92 and the grip feels fine to me and it has been my dream gun since I saw the lethal weapon and die hard movies :D, but my only concern is the locking block problem with the 92. If it breaks I might have a hard time finding a replacement here in the Philippines. Incidentally, does the 909 have the same locking block problem like the 92?

I like the 909 also because its size and magazine capacity, of course because the grip is also the same as the 92. But it does not have the same history of performance of the 92.

·
Registered
267 Posts